Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Avoiding bloat/what to feed

Go down 
+4
gina
amyreid91
ourfairview
sallysqueak
8 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
sallysqueak

sallysqueak

Avoiding bloat/what to feed Empty
PostSubject: Avoiding bloat/what to feed   Avoiding bloat/what to feed Icon_minitimeThu Feb 09, 2012 9:39 am

I'm looking to put my 6 month old onto adult food (after recommendation from others on here, but feel free to give your opinion if you think otherwise!)

We got him last week, so I am new to owning this breed, although I have loved and wanted one for 20 years. He is 6 months old and absolutely lovely in every way.

One thing I am absolutely terrified of is him getting bloat. Can anyone recommend a good dry food to feed to avoid this? Also, I thought raised feeding bowls reduced the risk, but I've just read somewhere on the net that they are actually a risk factor! I'm confused!

I also thought that feeding just dry was a bad thing, but everyone on here seems to recommend a dry diet?

I don't particularly want to go into feeding the BARF diet, as I'm veggie and I hate dealing with meat! Plus I'm on slimming world and feel i spend too long in the kitchen already making my own meals! I just want a good quality complete food either dry or a mix of wet and dry suitable for him. I worry that putting him onto adult food may stunt his growth, but so many people are saying to do it.... Please can you all enlighten me!! I don't have a breeder to ask unfortunately with him being adopted at an older age, so I'm relying on the help of saint loving strangers! Vets don't seem to know what they're talking about with this breed and just tell you to feed iams large breed puppy for 24 months!

Thanks Smile
Back to top Go down
http://www.nottsdoggiedaycare.co.uk/